British Cycling - Road Premier Calendar

Premier Calendar – East Yorkshire Classic 2011



East Yorkshire Classic 30th July 2011

Author: Chris Maher, Pictures Courtesy of Chris Maher | Photography


Late entry into the East Yorkshire Classic pays dividends for Sky Pro Cycling’s Jeremy Hunt.

Stealing the limelight and the glory, Sky’s Jeremy Hunt, a seasoned continental pro returned to the domestic Premier Calendar, where he demonstrated the cool collective approach of a top level athlete. Talking to Eurosports Mike Smith, Hunt said that “he had his eye on all the breakaways and went with the important ones”. Not having any teammates along side, Hunt kept a low profile whilst being heavily marked as several riders tried to get away.

Rapha Condor Sharp’s Jonathon Tiernan Locke was one of the first to gain a couple of minuets over the peleton. Making a break on the first prime out of Warter, Locke gained maximum points over several climbs on the main circuit before the race turned for home. On the last climb of the day, the leading group had already formed and Endura Racing’s Dave Clark led up the first part, whilst Sky’s Hunt took over the second part. The peleton by now had drifted back by over three minuets and the chase was on.

As the leaders started the final approach, the group splintered with Hunt, Wilkinson, Craven & Bialoblocki pulling away. On the last lap, the group once again re-formed with McEvoy, Fleeman, Partridge, Craven, Clarke, Lampier & Locke. With a 150m to go, Sky Pro Cycling’s Jeremy Hunt broke clear and Motorpoint’s Marcin Bialoblocki, Endura Racing’s Ian Wilkinson were out paced to the line.             

Race Results

  1. Jeremy Hunt                    Sky Pro Cycling 3-44-25
  2. Marcin Bialoblocki         Motorpoint
  3. Ian Wilkinson              Endura Racing
  4. Jonny McEvoy               Motorpoint
  5. Dan Craven                 Rapha Condor Sharp
  6. Steve Lampier              Sigma Sport
  7. Rob Partridge              Endura Racing
  8. Jonathan Tiernan-Locke    Rapha Condor Sharp
  9. Dave Clarke                    Endura Racing
  10. Dan Fleeman                    Team Raleigh

Standings after Round 5

  1. Ian Bibby                    300  Motorpoint Pro Cycling
  2. Jonathon McEvoy (U23)        226  Motorpoint Pro Cycling
  3. Zak Dempster                 225  Rapha Condor Sharp
  4. Marcin Bialoblocki           225  Motorpoint Pro Cycling
  5. Scott Thwaites (U23)               166  Endura Racing
  6. Matt Cronshaw                164  Team Raleigh
  7. Jack Bauer                   157  Endura Racing
  8. Jonathon Tiernan Locke       147  Rapha Condor Sharp
  9. Yanto Barker                137  Pendragon Le Col Colnago
  10. Steve Lampier                128  Sigma Sport


Premier Calendar 2011 Series

23-25 April   Tour Doon Hame – 3Day

08 May        Lincoln Grand Prix

05 June       Ryedale Grand Prix

19 June       Tour of the Reservoir

31 July       East Yorkshire Classic

28 Aug        Twinings Pro-Am Classic

04 Sep        Richmond Grand Prix