Brands Hatch British Superbikes

British Super Bikes – Round 8 – Brands Hatch GP

Round 8 – Brands Hatch GP – 05th Aug to 07th Aug 2011

Author: Chris Maher, Pictures courtesy of: Chris Maher | Photography


The first of three races this weekend saw Swan Yamaha’s Tommy Hill take pole position in qualifying. Racing on the longer 2.3 mile Grand Prix circuit also saw EVO class, Graeme Gowland’s Team WFR Honda through to Q3 and qualify in tenth position with a 1.26.683  

Front Row Grid

  1. Tommy Hill                 –           Swan Yamaha                                     1.25.357
  2. John Hopkins              –           Samsung Crescent Suzuki                   1.25.404
  3. Michael Laverty          –           Swan Yamaha                                     1.25.601
  4. Joan Lascorz               –           Kawasaki WSB Team                         1.25.827


Race 1

Light rain and drizzle just before race 1 delayed the start. A 7 min wet practice session was declared, but most riders declined the offer. The race was won by making the right tyre choice, and for many, the wrong decision was made. Big losers included Tommy Hill, Shane Byrne & Michael Laverty. John Hopkins managed to hang onto his fourth position as many of the riders stopped for replacement tyres & Tommy Hill profited by posting the quickest lap and pole position for race 2. A good start by the guest World Super Bike Rides also decayed as the track dried up.

Relentless Suzuki’s Josh Brookes took his first race victory from the fourth row, whilst Rapid Solicitors Bathams Ducati’s Michael Rutter fought his way through the field with full slicks on and into second place. MSS Colchester’s Gary Mason took third, but Shane Byrne who had stopped for slicks as well managed to pass both Mason & Rutter in the final lap. EVO rider Team WFR’s Graeme Gowland finished seventh in this reduced 15 lap race only thirteen seconds off the pace.

Result – BSB

  1. Josh Brookes        –           Relentlass Suzuki by TAS
  2. Michael Rutter     –           Rapid Solicitors Bathams Ducati
  3. Gary Mason         –           MSS Colchester Kawasaki
  4. John Hopkins       –           Samsung Crescent Racing Suzuki     


Result – EVO

  1. Graeme Gowland  –           Team WFR Honda
  2. Glen Richards       –           Team WFR Honda
  3. Patric Muff           –           Tyco Honda
  4. Dan Kneen            –           Marks Bloom Racing Kawasaki


Race 2

Hill, Byrne & Rutter take advantage in the early stages of the race until Hill runs off line and allows Hopkins & Laverty to close in. HM Plant’s Shane Byrne then takes the front position that goes all the way to the finish line after a disastrous first race.  Gary Mason slides out at Stirling’s on lap 15 after a great podium finish in race 1.

Swan Yamaha’s Tommy Hill battles all the way to the line for second & team mate Laverty clinches fourth. Hopkins takes third. Josh Brookes finishes in the points at sixth, after once again starting on the fourth row. Highest EVO rider for the second time at Brands was eleventh place man Team WFR Honda’s Graeme Gowland.

By the end of this race Hill, Byrne & Hopkins are confirmed contenders for the Showdown final three rounds.  

  1. Shane Byrne          –           HM Plant Honda
  2. Tommy Hill           –           Swan Yamaha
  3. John Hopkins        –           Samsung Crescent Suzuki
  4. Michael Laverty    –           Swan Yamaha


Result – EVO

  1. Graeme Gowland  –           Team WFR Honda
  2. Glen Richards       –           Team WFR Honda
  3. Barry Burrell         –           Buildbase BMW Motorad
  4. Patric Muff           –           Tyco Honda


Race 3

Swan Yamaha’s Tommy Hill leads into the first corner from pole position in race 3 and on to his first victory of the weekend. Josh Brooke’s race came to an early conclusion after his machine showed signs of leakage. Hopkins, Byrne & Laverty all stay in the same position throughout the race, whilst Rutter gain valuable points in fifth.

EVO rider Team WFR Honda’s Graeme Gowland claims eleventh position & the first triple win, in any race. Team mates Richards & Zemke came in second & third to become the first team ever to fill all the podium places.

  1. Tommy Hill           –           Swan Yamaha
  2. John Hopkins        –           Samsung Crescent Suzuki
  3. Shane Byrne          –           HM Plant Honda
  4. Michael Laverty    –           Swan Yamaha


Result – EVO

  1. Graeme Gowland  –           Team WFR Honda
  2. Glen Richards       –           Team WFR Honda
  3. Jake Zemke           –           Team WFR Honda
  4. Barry Burrell         –           Buildbase BMW Motorad


Standings after Round 8

  1. Shane Byrne          –           HM Plant Honda                                255
  2. John Hopkins        –           Samsung Crescent Racing Suzuki      231
  3. Tommy Hill           –           Swan Yamaha                                     210
  4. Michael Laverty    –           Swan Yamaha                                     163
  5. Josh Brookes         –           Relentlass Suzuki by TAS                  146
  6. Ryuichi Kiyonari   –           HM Plant Honda                                135
  7. Michael Rutter      –           Rapid Solicitors Bathams Ducati        130
  8. Gary Mason          –           MSS Colchester Kawasaki                 115
  9. Jon Kirkham          –           Samsung Crescent Suzuki                   112


EVO Class

  1. Glen Richards             –           Team WFR Honda                              277
  2. Barry Burrell               –           Buildbase BMW                                 207
  3. Patric Muff                 –           Tyco Honda                                        182
  4. Simon Richards           –           PR Racing Kawasaki                          159
  5. Scott Smart                 –           Moto Rapido Ducati                           156
  6. Graeme Gowland        –           Team WFR Honda                              151


Official Website:

Next Round is Cadwell Park’s Triple Header on the August Bank Holiday Weekend 27th to 29th.