British Cycling - Track Manchester Velodrome Track Cycling News UCI Track World Cup Classic

UCI Track Cycling World Cup | Day 3 – Manchester 2013

Robert Fӧrsteman, Germany... Ev3, 200m Sprint Qualifying sets a 9.799 time.
Robert Fӧrsteman, Germany… Ev3, 200m Sprint Qualifying sets a 9.799 time.


UCI Track World Cup Classics

Manchester Round 1 2013 – Day 3
Author: Chris Maher, Photography: Chris Maher | Photography

Sunday 03rd November 2013: Session 1, 09.00 – 17.25. Lunch break 12.50 – 14.30.


Round One  Manchester 01st Nov to 03rd Nov 2013

Round Two  Mexico     05th Dec to 07th Dec 2013

Round Three     TBC  17th Jan to 19th Jan 2014



A huge entry list of 41 competitors for the Men’s Sprint competition would mean twenty-five disappointed athletes. Britain’s Jason Kenny one of them. Placed at 24th with a 10.154 Britain’s only qualifier was Matt Crampton in tenth place. World record holder in this event Kevin Sireau (Fra) qualified in last position with a poor 10.573.

The first sub ten second ride was entry number eleven, Nicholas Njisane Phillip for Trinidad & Tobago who finished third in the seeding for the competition.


Men’s Sprint 200m Top 16 Qualifying – WR Holder Kevin Sireau Fra 9.572 Moscow 30 May 2009


  1. Robert Forstemann          Ger        9.799
  2. Edward Dawkins             Nzl        9.871
  3. Nicholas Njisane Phillip   Tri        9.936
  4. Matthew Glaetzer                Aus        9.944
  5. Shane Perkins              Jay        9.945
  6. Michael D’Almeida          Fra        9.947
  7. Peter Lewis                Jay        9.957
  8. Max Niederlag              Ger        9.964
  9. Denis Dmitriev             Rus        9.976
  10. Matthew Crampton           Gbr        10.015
  11. Seiichiro Nakagawa   CCT        10.046
  12. Juan Gascon Peralta  Esp        10.068
  13. Hersony Canelon      Ven        10.106
  14. Valetin Savitskiy    RVL        10.111
  15. Adam Ptacnik         Cze        10.112
  16. Maximillian Levi           ERD        10.115



First Omnium for the women today & Canada’s Gillian Carlton retains her front position after winning the 3000m IP. Trott second placement moves her closer to the top in third position with only two rounds remaining. the Scratch Race & the 500tt.


Women’s Omnium 4 Top 5 Qualifying – 3000m IP


  1. Gillian Carlton            Canada               3:34.003
  2. Laura Trott                Great Britain        3:34.293
  3. Ganna Solovey              Ukr                  3:37.996
  4. Jolien D’Hoore             Bel                  3:39.290
  5. Leire Dorronsoro Olaberria Esp                  3.39.558


Ev5 Men’s Sprint 1/8 Finals…

Forstemann, Ptacnik, Phillip, Glaetzer, Perkins, D’Almeida, Crampton & Dmitriev all progress to the quarter finals.


Ev6 Women’s Keirin Round One

Rebecca James & Stephanie Morton progress front heat one.

Sandie Clair & Fatehah Mustapa progress from heat two.

Kristina Vogel & Elena Brezhniva progress from heat three.


Ev7 Men’s Sprint Quarter Finals…

Forstemann, Crampton, Phillip & Perkins progress to the semi finals.




A brave move, almost from the gun, for Poland’s Malgorzata Wojtyra saw her charge away from the peleton and gain a lap with-out any reaction from here rivals. Well almost no one. After a couple of laps, Great Britain’s Laura Trott decided she would try & join Wojtyra & as the two made ground on the peleton they would be the only girls with a lap up.

With Laura in front of Malgorzata in the peleton over the line. She effectively wins the race, whilst Omnium leader Gillian Carleton only manages a ninth position. Trott now leads this competition by three points over Carleton with Belgium’s D’Hoore in third. One more race to decide the overall winner & the UCI Track World Cup leaders jersey.


Women’s Omnium 5 10Km Scratch Race


  1. Laura Trott                Gbr  +1 Lap
  2. Malgorzata Wojtyra         Pol  +1 Lap
  3. Annalisa Cucinotta         Ita
  4. Annette Edmondson          Aus
  5. Jolien D’Hoore             Bel



Men’s Sprint Semi Finals



In the final round of the Women’s Omnium event, Britain’s Laura Trott pulled off a magic win, in-front of the enthusiastic home crowd. Trailing Canada’s Gillian Carleton going into this final round, Trott’s first placement win with France’s Laurie Berthon in second position, gave her enough of a buffer, to move up to the Gold Medal in the competition.


Women’s Omnium 6 500m Time Trial WR Holder Anna Meares Aus 33.010 Melbourne 08 Apr 2012


  1. Laura Trott                Gbr        35.331
  2. Laurie Berthon             Fra        35.601
  3. Gillian Carleton                Can        35.739
  4. Tamara Balabolina          Rus        35.763
  5. Annette Edmondson          Aus        35.781



Men’s Omnium 5 Scratch Race 15Kms


  1. Oliver Beer                     Sui
  2. Tim Veldt                       Ned
  3. Jasper De Buyst                 Bel
  4. Jon Dibben                      Gbr
  5. R Tsishkou                      Blr




Women’s Points Race 20Kms


  1. Laura Brown                     Canada          29 Points
  2. Elizabeth Newell                     USA             26
  3. Jamie Yui Wan Wong              Hong Kong       26
  4. Stephanie Pohl                  Germany
  5. Valeria Kononenko               Ukraine




Men’s Sprint Heat 1




Women’s Keirin Finals


  • Gold:      Kristina Vogel       Germany
  • Silver:    Becky James          Great Britain
  • Bronze:    Sandie Clair         France
  • 4th:      Sze Wai Lee          Hong Kong




Men’s Scratch Race 20Kms


  1.      Andreas Muller             Austria
  2.      Elia Viviani               Italy
  3.      Jon Mould                  Great Britain
  4.      Albert Barcelo Torres      Spain
  5.      Ivan Kovalev               Russia



Men’s Sprint Finals


  • Gold:      Robert Forstemann          Germany
  • Silver     Nicholas Njisane Phillip   Trinidad & Tobago
  • Bronze     Shane Perkins              Australia
  • 4th        Matthew Crampton                Great Britain




All results published & verified by the official time keepers of Tissot Timing


Flickr Photos updated regularly.


Facebook Photos


Thanks to British Cycling for media access.

error: Content is protected !!