British Cycling - Road British Cycling - Track London 2012 London Olympics 2012

London 2012 | Team GB Cyclist’s Shortlisted

Team GB – London Olympics – Athlete Shortlist Announcement

Author: Chris Maher, Pictures courtesy of: Chris Maher | Photography

British Cycling guru David Brailsford announced a shortlist of cyclists to represent Great Britain at this years London Olympics.
Eight road men have been shortlisted to cover both events. The main road race on July 28th and the time trial on August 01st. Six road women, likewise have been shortlisted to cover both events.
World Champion Mark Cavendish will more than likely be the team captain with support from either Steve Cummins, Chris Froome, Jeremy Hunt, Ian Stannard, David Millar, Ben Swift or Bradley Wiggins. Bradley Wiggins & Chris Froome will ride the time trial on August 01st.
Reigning Olympic Road Champion Nicole Cooke will more than likely captain the woman’s road team on July 29th. Emma Pooley will ride the time trial on August 01st.

David said that the selection was “a blend of experience and young talent”. Phillip Hindes, Jessica Varnish and Laura Trott are getting their first chance at Olympic glory, whilst it has been confirmed that both Sir Chris Hoy and Victoria Pendleton MBE will retire from the sport after the games.


UPDATED 21st June 2012

The Women’s Road Race selection have been confirmed by the British Olympic Association and British Cycling today (21st).

Nicole Cooke, reigning Olympic Champion and Emma Pooley, Silver Olympic Time Trial medalist will be joint by the very talented current National Champion Lizzie Armitstead along with Lucy Martin. This will be Armitstead’s and Martin’s Olympic debut. Both Pooley and Armistead will ride the Time Trial event as well.

Road Men (5 positions only) to be confirmed by 28th June. Updated on 04th July…

Mark Cavendish              (Confirmed)
Steve Cummins
Chris Froome                   (Confirmed)
Jeremy Hunt
Ian Stannard                    (Confirmed)
David Millar                     (Confirmed)
Ben Swift
Bradley Wiggins              (Confirmed)

Time Trial Men

Chris Froome                    (Confirmed)
Bradley Wiggins               (Confirmed)

Road Women (4 positions only) Have been confirmed on the 21st June.

Nicole Cooke                    (Confirmed)
Emma Pooley                   (Confirmed)
Lizzie Armitstead           (Confirmed)
Katie Colclough
Sharon Laws
Lucy Martin                      (Confirmed)

Time Trial Women

Emma Pooley                   (Confirmed)
Lizzie Armitstead           (Confirmed)

Track Men

Sir Chris Hoy                    (Confirmed for Sprint Event)
Phillip Hindes                   (Confirmed for Sprint Event)
Jason Kenny                     (Confirmed for Sprint Event)
Steven Burke
Ed Clancy                           (Confirmed for Omnium Event)
Peter Kennaugh
Andrew Tennant
Geraint Thomas

Track Women

Victoria Pendleton     (Confirmed for Sprint Event)
Jessica Varnish            (Confirmed for Sprint Event)
Wendy Hovenaghel
Danielle King
Joanna Rowsell
Laura Trott                    (Confirmed for Omnium Event)

Substitute Track Athletes

Ross Edgar
Rebecca James

BMX Biking

Liam Phillips
Shanaze Reide

Mountain Biking (Cross Country)

Liam Killeen
Annie Last