Aviva Women's Tour British Cycling - Road Women's Road Race Cycling Events

Aviva Women’s Tour 2015 | Stage Five

Final Report from the 2015 Aviva Women’s Tour


Lisa Brennauer clinched the overall victory in the Aviva Women’s Tour, surviving an attacking final day of racing through the Chiltern Hills from Marlow to Hemel Hempstead.


Marlow to Hemel Hempstead 102.6kms
Marlow to Hemel Hempstead 102.6kms

Final Bunch Sprint into Hemel Hempstead


Sunday 21st June 2015

Author: Chris Maher/ Press Release, Images courtesy of: Chris Maher | Photography


Lisa Brennauer clinched the overall victory in the Aviva Women’s Tour, surviving an attacking final day of racing through the Chiltern Hills from Marlow to Hemel Hempstead, won by Hannah Barnes.

The UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling rider Hannah Barnes sprinted to victory in the Premier Inn Best British Rider Jersey as the peloton once again caught the day’s break of Claudia Lichtenberg and Audrey Cordon inside the final kilometer.

The duo were finally reeled in by a fast charging peloton on the arrow straight final 500-metres, setting up an exciting finish with Barnes coming through to claim her biggest victory to date, along with both the Premier Inn Best British Rider and SweetSpot Best Young Rider prizes by virtue of her fifth overall.

Behind Barnes Stage Two winner Jolien D’Hoore took second with Simona Frapporti third, while General Classification Contenders Brennauer, Majerus and Johansson took fourth, fifth and seventh respectively.

The World Time Trial Champion’s consistent finishing of top six places on all five stages earned her the Chain Reaction Cycles Points Jersey to pair with her Aviva Yellow Jersey, finishing with a six second advantage over D’Hoore with Majerus a further second back.

“This Tour is one of the biggest events on the women’s calendar, so this victory means a lot to me. It was a great victory for me, but also for the whole team – big thanks to all my team mates,” said the Velocio SRAM rider afterwards

“I have to thank my team mates, it wasn’t easy today – a tough stage with all the hills and a lot of hard attacks.

“I worked hard yesterday to get the jersey back. I missed some of the intermediate sprints. I wanted to get to the point where I could give back to my team-mates for all their hard work.”

First Queen of the Mountains breakaway almost caught! Cryers Hill

Having started amidst the biggest crowds of the week in Marlow in Buckinghamshire, riders headed into the Chiltern Hills for a stage of attacking racing. A lead group of four riders, including eventual YodelDirect Combativity Winner Gracie Elvin, formed early on but were caught by the top of the first Strava Queen of the Mountains climb of Cryers Hill as the General Classification contenders fought for bonus seconds at the first Chain Reaction Cycles Sprint at Prestwood, which came almost immediately afterwards.

Lichtenberg then attacked on one of the day’s, many, unclassified climbs with many riders trying to cross to her, but Wiggle Honda’s Cordon was the only one to make the junction with thirteen kilometers remaining.

Yet again though in the Aviva Women’s Tour the escape would not prevail, setting up Barnes for a highly popular win in Hemel Hempstead

A Delighted Stage Five Winner! Hannah Barnes

“This was the biggest aim of the year, so I’m happy to have pulled it off.

“I knew it would be hard in the Chilterns and what to expect. The sprint was crazy, very difficult. I got boxed at 100m to go but thankfully got free. The team are normally used to the American peloton & wide roads,” continued Barnes, before praising teammate Alexis Ryan for protecting her in “the Alexis bubble”.

With breakaway riders sweeping up the big points at both Strava Queen of the Mountains climbs Orica AIS rider Melissa Hoskins extended her lead by a point to keep hold of the orange polka dot jersey ahead of Elise Delzenne.

Overall YodelDirect Combativity Winner, Elisa Longo Borghini

The Boels Dolmans team added the Aviva Team Classification to their two stage wins with Elisa Longo Borghini claiming the Overall YodelDirect Combativity Award having been at the front of the action on several stages.

An excellent Women’s Tour bring on 2016!


Stage Results

  1. Hannah Barnes                    United Healthcare Professional Cycling
  2. Jolien D’Hoore                     Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
  3. Simona Frapporti                Ale Cipollini
  4. Lisa Brennauer
  5. Christine Majerus
  6. Sara Mustonen-Lichan
  7. Emma Johansson
  8. Katie Archibald
  9. Maria Giulia Confalonieri
  10. Roxanne Knetemann


Aviva Women's GC, 3rd Christine Majerus, 1st Lisa Brennauer, 2nd Jolien D'Hoore

Aviva Final General Classification



  1. Lisa Brennauer                    Velocio SRAM
  2. Jolien D’Hoore                    Wiggle Honda
  3. Christine Majerus               Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
  4. Emma Johansson               Orica AIS
  5. Hannah Barnes                   United Healthcare Professional Cycling
  6. Simona Frapporti               Ale Cipollini
  7. Leah Kirchmann                 Optum p/b Kelly Benefits Strategies
  8. Alexis Ryan                       United Healthcare Professional Cycling
  9. Pascale Jeuland                   Poitou-Charentes Futuroscope.86
  10. Maria Giulia Confalonieri         Ale Cipollini


U23 Sweetspot Overall Winner, Hannah Barnes

Sweetspot U23


  1. Hannah Barnes
  2. Alexis Ryan
  3. Maria Giulia Confalonieri
  4. Susanna Zorzi
  5. Amelia Dideriksen
  6. Laura Trott
  7. Sabrina Stultiens
  8. Molly Weaver
  9. Anouska Koster
  10. Lucy Garner


Premier Inn Best British Winner, Hannah Barnes

Premier Inn Best British


  1. Hannah Barnes
  2. Laura Trott
  3. Molly Weaver
  4. Lucy Garner
  5. Sharon Laws




Chain Reaction Points Winner, Lisa Brennauer

Chain Reaction Points


  1. Lisa Brennauer
  2. Jolien D’Hoore
  3. Emma Johansson
  4. Christine Majerus
  5. Hannah Barnes
  6. Simona Frapporti
  7. Barbara Guarischi
  8. Lotta Lepestö
  9. Marta Tagliaferro
  10. Lucy Garner


Strava Queen of the Mountains Winner, Melissa Hoskins

Stava Queen of the Mountains

  1. Strava_QueenoftheMountainsMelissa Hoskins
  2. Elise Delzenne
  3. Sharon Laws
  4. Anouska Koster
  5. Sabrina Stultiens
  6. Emma Johansson
  7. Laura Trott
  8. Elisa Longo Borghini
  9. Megan Guarnier
  10. Uenia Fernandes Sousa


Best Team Performance Overall Winners, Boels Dolmans Cycling Team

Overall Team Classification

Boels Dolmans Cycling Team

Ale Cipollini

Wiggle Honda

Velocio SRAM

Team Liv Plantur

Aviva Women's Tour 2015 Winners Podium

Useful Links…


Champagne Celebrations


Twitter www.twitter.com/thewomenstour


Facebook www.facebook.com/thewomenstour


Instagram www.instagram.com/thetourcycling


YouTube www.youtube.com/thetourcycling


Event Hashtag #AvivaWT2015


Aviva Women’s Tour Women’s Tour


Team Jadan


Cycling Shorts

Champagne Podium Cam Selfie! Thanks Everyone