British Cycling - Road Premier Calendar

Premier Calendar – Richmond Grand Prix 2011

Author: Chris Maher, Pictures Courtesy of Chris Maher | Photography

Richmond Grand Prix 04th Sept 2011


British Cycling’s Premier Calendar road cycle race series returned to Richmond, North Yorkshire once again for the season finale.

Traveling out of Market Place anticlockwise Westwards, the first action is the sprint at 17Kms in Fremington. Continuing to the top end of the coarse is the main climb of the day, the Butter Tubs at 39Kms. Returning Easterly along the Wensledale Valley, the climb of Scarth Nick is at 65Kms. Returning back towards Richmond, the usual 3 circuits of Waithwith Hill include 2x K.O.M primes, before the final run back into Richmond’s Market Place cobbled finish.


An 11.30am start with five possible Premier Calendar title contenders heading the field, were all racing this finale. Motorpoint’s Ian Bibby, Jonny McEvoy & Marcin Bialoblocki top the league, with Team Raleigh’s Matt Cronshaw & Rapha Condor Sharp’s Zak Dempster all chasing the 2011 title. Motorpoint had it all to play for, but other riders were out for the glory including former winner Sky Pro Cycling’s Russell Downing, Sigma Sport’s Simon Richardson & Tom Last & Team Raleigh’s Liam Holohan.

Through the only sprint of the day, Endura Pedalpower Racing claimed the points & soon after a five man break had gained 3 minuets by the top of the Butter Tubs prime. Rapha Condor Sharp’s Andrew Tennant crossed the K.O.M line first, then Team Raleigh’s Dan Fleeman. Marcin Bioloblocki, Simon Richardson then Jamie Sparling. Tennant also took the Scarth Nick Prime along with the first Waithwith prime.

Down to two minuets by the first feed on Waithwith, Endura Racing’s Dave Clarke, Rapha Condor Sharp’s Dan Craven & Team Raleigh’s Liam Holohan headed the chase.

By the second prime on Waithwith, the chasers were down to just under one minuet. Ian Bibby & Rapha Condor Sharp’s Jonathon Tiernan Locke where off the front of the peleton whilst Sky Pro Cycling’s Russell Downing soon lit the touch paper and the final push to the line.

It was Andrew Tennant that took the victory ahead of Simon Richardson & Dan Fleeman. Bialoblocki dropped back slightly to fourth whilst team mate Bibby & McEvoy were split by Zak Dempster. Russell Downing came in eighth at 28s, whilst Holohan & Last were in the same group.     

Race Results

1.  Andrew Tennant                 Rapha Condor Sharp

2.  Simon Richardson               Sigma Sport Specialized

3.  Dan Fleeman                    Team Raleigh

4.  Marcin Bialoblocki             Motorpoint Pro Cycling

5.  Ian Bibby                      Motorpoint Pro Cycling

6.  Zak Dempster                   Rapha Condor Sharp

7.  Jonny McEvoy (U23)             Motorpoint Pro Cycling

8.  Russel Downing                 Sky Pro Cycling

9.  Liam Holohan                   Team Raleigh

  1. Tom Last                     Sigma Sport Specialized


Standings after Round 7

  1. Ian Bibby                    358  Motorpoint Pro Cycling
  2. Jonathon McEvoy (U23)        337  Motorpoint Pro Cycling
  3. Marcin Bialoblocki           325  Motorpoint Pro Cycling


Premier Calendar 2011 Series

23-25 April   Tour Doon Hame – 3Day

08 May        Lincoln Grand Prix

05 June       Ryedale Grand Prix

19 June       Tour of the Reservoir

31 July       East Yorkshire Classic

28 Aug        Twinings Pro-Am Classic

04 Sep        Richmond Grand Prix