Tour De Yorkshire

Tour De Yorkshire 2015 | Stage 2 Results



Tour De Yorkshire 2015 | Stage 2 Results


Author: Chris Maher, Pictures courtesy of:

Stage 2 Profile
Stage 2 Profile


Saturday 02nd May 2015 TDY-Logo Q


 B illed as the Sprinters Stage, Selby to York delivered that promise, with a thirty man bunch sprint along the Knavesmire.


With favourites, Marcel Kittel and Ben Swift out of contention. The opportunity to win stage two went all the way down to the line. Team Lotto Jumbo’s Moreno Hofland crossed the line narrowly in-front of IAM Cycling’s Matteo Pelucchi and Team Giant Alpecin’s Ramon Sinkeldam.


An early break containing eight riders mopped up the intermediate sprints and the KOM points.

By the time the leading bunch had entered the finishing circuit in York, they still had over two and a half minuets on the peloton, and it was still un-clear, if they could stay away till the end.


Bell lap for escapees, Mark McNally (Madison Genesis) & Bert de Backer (Team Giant Alpecin)
Bell lap for escapees, Mark McNally (Madison Genesis) & Bert de Backer (Team Giant Alpecin)


With a lap and a half to go, Madison Genesis’s Mark McNally and Team Giant Alpecin’s Bert de Backer had broke free of the leading group. Crossing the start/ finish line and bell lap, they were one minuet-fifteen up.


On the last lap, the remaining leaders were soon swallowed up. With under ten kilometres until the finish line, the final two escapees were caught eventually. All the signs of a big bunch sprint where showing.


De Backer stayed out front until the dying kilometres, Cofidis went for a long one. As the final straight approached, BMC tried one last attach. With one-hundred metres remaining, the bunch opened up across the road and the sprint finish as promised, burst into life!


Promised Big Bunch Sprint!
Promised Big Bunch Sprint!


Stage Result: Selby to York – 174 Kms, 3:57.58 Hrs, Ave Sp 43.87 Kmph.


1)         Moreno Hofland                                 Team Lotto Jumbo

2)         Matteo Pelucchi                                  IAM Cycling

3)         Ramon Sinkeldam                               Team Giant Alpecin

4)         Jean Pierre Drucker                             BMC

5)         Dylan Groenewegen                           Roompot Oranje Peloton

6)         André Looje                                        Roompot Oranje Peloton

7)         Russell Downing (GBR)                     Cult Energy Pro Cycling

8)         Andreas Stauff                                   MTN Qhubeka

9)         Harry Tanfield (GBR)                                    JLT Condor

10)       Pieter Van Speybrouck                       Topsport Vlaanderen Baloise

11)       Reinard Janse Van Rensburg              MTN Qhubeka

12)       Thomas Sprengers                               Topsport Vlaanderen Baloise

13)       Greg Van Avermaet                            BMC

14)       Chris Opie(GBR)                                One Pro Cycling

15)       Ian Wilkinson (GBR)                          Team Raleigh GAC

16)       Julien Simon                                        Cofidis

17)       Jonas Van Genechten                         IAM Cycling

18)       Yanto Barker (GBR)                          One Pro Cycling

19)       Steele Van Hoff                                  NFTO

20)       Samuel Sanchez                                  BMC (All Same Time)


General Classification:


1)         Lars Petter Nordhaug                         Team Sky

2)         Samuel Sanchez                                  BMC

3)         Thomas Voeckler                                Europcar

4)         Stephane Rossetto                              Cofidis

5)         Philip Deignan                                    Team Sky

6)         Anthony Turgis                                   Cofidis

7)         Greg van Avermaet                             BMC

8)         Erick Rowsell (GBR)                          Madison Genesis

9)         Ben Hermans                                      BMC

10)       Richard Handley (GBR)                     JLT Condor




Cote De North Newbald                    Mark McNally             Madison Genesis

Cote De Finbar                                   Mark McNally             Madison Genesis


Overall KOM:                                     Perrig Quemenneur     Europcar




Wetwang                     Ivar Slik                                  Roompot Oranje Peloton

York                            Ivar Slik                                  Roompot Oranje Peloton

Finish York                 Moreno Hofland                     Team Lotto Jumbo


Overall Sprints:           Lars Petter Nordhaug            Team Sky


Most Aggressive:        Mark McNally                         Madison Genesis



Official Website Tour De Yorkshire 


Contributor to


My photos are regularly updated on


Official photographer 2014 for


error: Content is protected !!