British Cycling - Road Premier Calendar

Premier Calendar – Ryedale Grand Prix 2011


 Ryedale Grand Prix – 05th June 2011  

Author: Chris Maher, Pictures Courtesy of Chris Maher | Photography


British Cycling’s Premier Calendar road cycle race series returned to Duncombe Park, Helmsley, North Yorkshire, for the 6th consecutive year. The now well established venue provided a stunning backdrop to the 3rd event in the 2011 edition. The Ryedale Grand Prix, incorporating the Peter Longbottom Trophy, is run over a 181km (112.5m) double circuit that passes through the village of Hovingham no less than eight times. On the first circuit, the riders make their way out of Helmsley southwards, & along the B1257 to first of 4 laps that climb out of the village of Hovingham. Upon completing this first set of laps, it’s a steady climb back along the B1257 through Stonegrave before dropping down a steep descent into Oswaldkirk with a nasty acute left hand turn at the bottom. Another three more descents of Oswaldkirk then back along to Duncombe Park, Helmsley for a mile long drag up to the finish line.


Setting off at 11.30am, the hundred & twenty or so rides got underway, on a reasonably dry & sunny day. It wasn’t long before reaching the first ascent of Hovingham & Endura Racing’s Ian Wilkinson lead a four man group. This four man group soon became nine by the second accent, & it had grown to twenty one, by lap three. Rapha Condor Sharp’s Jonathon Tiernan Locke had been in this leading group from the start & it was Locke that eventually arrived at the gates of Duncombe Park for the final sprint. Winning his first Premier Calendar event, Locke outsprinted Endura Racings Evan Oliphant, Team Raleigh’s Dan Fleeman & Twenty3c Obrea’s Robert Sharman.

Chasing hard all day was semi retired pro, Magnus Backstedt, Team UK Youth. Catching the leaders in the early stages to form the twenty one man group, he finished in a ten man group 1.48 back. Along with Backstedt was Endura Racing’s Dave Clark, Cycle Premier’s Dale Appleby & Sigma Sport’s Tom Last. Taking the best U23 placement was Endura Racing’s Scott Thwaites, who finished seventh overall.

Series leader, Rapha Condor Sharp’s Zak Dempster finished in the main group 11.21 down. He had moved into the chasing group on the second lap midway point through Stonegrave, but had team mates upfront & eventually dropped back as the pace increased. Although not scoring any points in this race, he had accumulated enough to keep him at the top of the Standings, after this third round.


1.  Jonathon Tiernan Locke         Rapha Condor Sharp

2.  Evan Oliphant                  Endura Racing

3.  Dan Fleeman                    Team Raleigh

4.  Robert Sharman                 Twenty3c Obrea

5.  Stephen Gallagher     Metaltek

6.  James Sharp                    York Cycleworks

7.  Scott Thwaites                 Endura Racing

8.  Dan Craven                     Rapha Condor Sharp

9.  Tom Last                       Sigma Sport Specialized

  1. Dale Appleby        Metaltek


Standings after Round 3

  1. Zak Dempster                 225  Rapha Condor Sharp
  2. Ian Bibby                    175  Motorpoint Pro Cycling
  3. Jonathon McEvoy              160  Motorpoint Pro Cycling
  4. Scott Thwaites               152  Endura Racing
  5. Matt Cronshaw                130  Team Raleigh
  6. Yanto Barker                 122  Pendragon Le Col Colnago
  7. Jonathon Tiernan Locke       108  Rapha Condor Sharp
  8. Jack Bauer                   99   Endura Racing
  9. Robert Sharman               91   Twenty3c Obrea
  10. Evan Oliphant           85   Endura Racing


Premier Calendar 2011 Series

23-25 April   Tour Doon Hame – 3Day

08 May        Lincoln Grand Prix

05 June       Ryedale Grand Prix

19 June       Tour of the Reservoir

31 July       East Yorkshire Classic

28 Aug        Twinings Pro-Am Classic

04 Sep        Richmond Grand Prix

Ryedale Grand Prix 05th June 2011