British Superbikes Donington Park

British Super Bikes – Round 10 – Donington

Round 10 – Donington Park – 09th Sept – 11th Sept 2011

Author: Chris Maher, Pictures courtesy of: Chris Maher | Photography

 Championship Showdown Part 1


Samsung Crescent Suzuki’s John Hopkins topped Q1 whist Swan Yamaha’s Michael Laverty topped Q2. In the final selection for pole, team mate Tommy Hill qualified the quickest, his 4th pole of the season with a new Donington lap record.

EVO class WFR Racing Honda’s Graeme Gowland qualified eighth in Q2 to take ninth position in Q1 ahead of Honda’s James Ellison  

Front Row Grid

  1. Tommy Hill                 –           Swan Yamaha                                     1.28.869
  2. Michael Laverty          –           Swan Yamaha                                     1.29.258
  3. John Hopkins              –           Samsung Crescent Suzuki                   1.29.649
  4. Peter Hickman                        –           Tyco Honda                                        1.30.174


Race 1

Shooting from the second row of the grid on this twenty lap race, HM Plant Honda’s Shane Byrne led the bunch into turn one. But it wasn’t long before Swan Yamaha’s Michael Laverty passed Byrne to complete lap one in front.

Shane Byrne regained the lead by lap three, as Swan Yamaha’s Tommy Hill pushed for second. Laverty now third was followed by Byrne fourth. Reigning BSB Champion, HM Plant Honda’s Ryuichi Kiyonari was back in eighth position behind Relentless Suzuki’s Josh Brookes, but failed to finish the race with a suspected engine fault.

The first Showdown win went to Samsung Crescent Suzuki’s Ex MotoGP rider John Hopkins who began his move from fourth on lap eleven. A mistake by Hill on lap thirteen forced himself and leader Byrne back to third and fourth as team mate Laverty took the lead once more. American, Hopkins was now up to second position and made his final move through the Fogarty Essess to go on and win the race.

Team WFR Racing Honda’s Graeme Gowland took tenth position to win the EVO class race losing just over a second a lap to the full spec race winner Hopkins. It was a one, two, and three for Team WFR Racing Honda once more.

Result – BSB

  1. John Hopkins       –           Samsung Crescent Racing Suzuki
  2. Michael Laverty   –           Swan Yamaha
  3. Tommy Hill          –           Swan Yamaha
  4. Shane Byrne         –           HM Plant Honda       


Result – EVO

  1. Graeme Gowland              –           Team WFR Honda
  2. James Westmoreland        –           Team WFR Honda
  3. Glen Richards                   –           Team WFR Honda
  4. Barry Burrell                     –           Buildbase BMW Motorad


Race 2

Samsung Crescent Suzuki’s John Hopkins lines up first position for race two. Joining him on the front row are HM Plant Honda’s Shane Byrne, Swan Yamaha’s Michael Laverty and Tommy Hill.

It was Laverty that got across into turn one first, HM Plant Honda’s Shane Byrne lent into him and both motorcycles went into the gravel pit. Several other riders ran wide, but all managed to return to the track upright.

Swan Yamaha’s Tommy Hill was gifted the front position with reigning BSB Champion Ryuichi Kiyonari after replacing his engine between races slipped into second. Race one victor John Hopkins took third whilst Relentless Suzuki’s Josh Brookes was fourth. By the end of lap one, Hopkins had passed Kiyonari followed by Brookes, Kirkham then Ellison.

John Hopkins made his winning move on lap five to slip in front of Hill and a double victory here at Donington Park. By the end of the race, Samsung Crescent Suzuki’s John Kirham moved up to third with Rapid Solicitors Bathams Ducati’s Martin Jessopp fourth. Other title contenders Brookes came in fifth with Kiyonari eventually slipping back to sixth. HM Plant Honda’s Shane Byrne fought his way back for second last and gain valuable Showdown points in eight whilst Laverty could only manage fourteenth.

Taking the’s EVO class win once again was Team WFR Racing Honda’s Graeme Gowland, finishing in tenth place overall.

BSB – Result 

  1. John Hopkins        –           Samsung Crescent Suzuki
  2. Tommy Hill           –           Swan Yamaha
  3. Jon Kirkham          –           Samsung Crescent Suzuki
  4. Martin Jessopp      –           Rapid Solicitors Bathams Ducati


Result – EVO

  1. Graeme Gowland              –           Team WFR Honda
  2. James Westmoreland        –           Team WFR Honda
  3. Barry Burrell                     –           Buildbase BMW Motorad
  4. Glen Richards                   –           Team WFR Honda


Standings after Round 10 – Showdown Part 1

  1. John Hopkins        –           Samsung Crescent Racing Suzuki      568
  2. Tommy Hill           –           Swan Yamaha                                     565
  3. Shane Byrne          –           HM Plant Honda                                543
  4. Michael Laverty    –           Swan Yamaha                                     532
  5. Josh Brookes         –           Relentlass Suzuki by TAS                  530
  6. Ryuichi Kiyonari   –           HM Plant Honda                                518
  7. Jon Kirkham          –           Samsung Crescent Suzuki                   172
  8. Peter Hickman      –           Tyco Honda                                        137
  9. Gary Mason          –           MSS Colchester Kawasaki                 135
  10. Michael Rutter      –           Rapid Solicitors Bathams Ducati        130


EVO Class

  1. Glen Richards             –           Team WFR Honda                              363
  2. Graeme Gowland        –           Team WFR Honda                              271
  3. Barry Burrell               –           Buildbase BMW                                 261
  4. Patric Muff                 –           Tyco Honda                                        222
  5. Scott Smart                 –           Moto Rapido Ducati                           212
  6. Simon Andrews          –           PR Racing Kawasaki                          159


Official Website: