British National Track Cycling Championships Manchester Velodrome Track Cycling News

British National Track Championships 2011 | Day 1

British Cycling – National Track Championships – Day 1, 28 Sept 2011

Author: Chris Maher, Pictures courtesy of: Chris Maher | Photography

The 2011 British National Track Championships once again are held in the National Cycling Centre, Manchester. The event is spread over 5 days, and starts off with the Open Pursuit, Women’s 500m Individual Time Trial and Para-cycling ITT.

This will be the final selection period of the four yearly cycle for those athletes who want to shine and represent Great Britain at the 2012 London Olympics.

The National Track Championships traditionally open up the winter period of competition here in the UK. So this year will it will be very special as it’s on the final run up to London 2012. More athletes than ever before will be vying for that elusive placement on Team GB, and those that have held the top placements for the past few years will be challenging one more time for that final bid at Olympic glory.

This season will see both men & women challenging on the Track that have been successful on the Road. So the likes of Bradley Wiggins and Geraint Thomas and Lizzie Armitstead are likely to spend most of the winter on the boards and in the gym.

This season should also herald National and World records, broken by the desire to win attention and all that fine tuning in the four year GB plan. Let the Championships begin…     

Open 4000m  Qualifying        (NR: Chris Boardman 4.11.114)

 Open 4000m Medals             (Non Olympic Event)

2008 Holder: Steven Burke

2009 Holder: Geraint Thomas            4:18.241

2010 Holder: Peter Kennaugh                        4:25.215

  • Gold                Steven Burke
  • Silver               Samual Harrison
  • Bronze             Jonathon Dibben

 Jonathan Dibben lapped his opponent Douglas Dewey to claim the Bronze in the Open 1000m Individual Pursuit.

Steven Burke overhauled rival Samuel Harrison to claim the National IP Champions Jersey and Gold medal. Catching Harrison on the final lap was enough to clinch the 2011 title.

Women’s 500m Time Trial   (NR: Victoria Pendleton 33.838) (Non Olympic Event)

2007 Holder: Victoria Pendleton

2008 Holder: Anna Blyth

2009 Holder: Victoria Pendleton        34.262

2010 Holder: Victoria Pendleton        34.636

  • Gold                Jessica Varnish            34.500 PB
  • Silver               Rebecca James            35.414
  • Bronze             Laura Trott                  35.980

 Jessica Varnish claimed the first Gold of the British National Track Championships with a personal best time of 34.500, fending off stiff competition from Rebecca James & Laura Trott… Dani King rode home fourth with a 35.995, whilst Joanna Rowsell also set a personal best with a 36.342

 Para-cycling Time Trial

  • Gold                Jon-Allan Butterworth            MC5    1.07.459          WR
  • Silver               Aileen McGlynn OBE                        FB       1.09.456
  • Bronze             Neil Fachie                              MB      1.03.299

 Jon-Allan Butterworth wearing the World Champions rainbow jersey beat his own World Record (1.07.615) in the Para-cycling Time Trial (MC5) with a 1.07.615 to claim the second Gold of the day. Although Butterworth didn’t get the best of starts out of the blocks, he soon got into his stride to claim the National Champions Jersey.

error: Content is protected !!