British Cycling National Road Race Championships Women's (National Road) Series

Ryedale Women’s Grand Prix incorporating the BC Junior Women’s National Road Race Championship


#RyedaleGP Women’s Road Race 2014


20 July 2014

Author: Chris Maher, Pictures courtesy of:


Round Eight in the Women’s Road Race Series – Ryedale Grand Prix incorporating the BC Junior Women’s National Road Race Championship.


Pre Race.


Round Eight of the Women’s Road Series is the Ryedale Grand Prix, based around the Ampleforth Abbey Grounds, in North Yorkshire. The course has been used over the years for the National Championships and consists of two loops that pass through the grounds of the Sport College and the Start/ Finish area, allowing the spectators to follow the progression of the race as it develops.


This year’s edition incorporates the British Cycling Junior Women’s Road Race Championships with-in the senior race, and covers around thirty-nine miles.




A nine-thirty start on a muggy, misty and slightly damp course saw the girls away safely up the switch-back climb in-front of the Abbey and onto the main road. A two kilometre neutralised zone got the girls through the town of Ampleforth where they swung left and onto the main climb across the Yearsley Moor to start the race. A high pace up the first ascend saw four or five girls dropped straight away. The course then turned to the  right before Yearsley, and the girls headed out towards Oulston for the first of two large circuits.


It wasn’t long before a couple of minor falls split the peleton, and as the pace was kept high, the peleton once again fragmented.


Heading left at Gilling East and back through to the Sports Grounds at the Abbey for the first circuit, Series Leader Nicola Juniper made a small attack and gained four or five seconds lead. The peleton had strung-out on the approach to the Rugby Fields, but at the right, then left-hand pinch point, the slippery surface brought panic to the chasing girls as several slid across the surface and brought the group to an almost stand-still.


Chains un-tangled, and a quick brush-down, it was going to be a hard chase for the peleton to catch Juniper, who had rode up through the start/ finish area un-aware of the hold-up behind her and to a lead of around sixty-seconds.


Looking back, further around the course, Juniper had realised that no-one was there, and decided to dig-in and time trial the rest of the race.


The peleton chased hard, but Juniper’s lead grew, and in the end, rode to a solo victory.


Eye’s, then were on the sprint to the line and more importantly the first three Junior’s, vying for the National Championships Jersey. It was no surprise to see Bethany Haywood, Matrix Fitness Vulpine glued to the wheels of Laura Massey, Epic Cycles who lead the bunch in for second place. Emma Grant rode in to forth, Elizabeth Holden in to fifth and Silver for the juniors. Amy Gornall, RST Racing rode in to eighth place to secure her Bronze Medal.


Race Results


  1. Nicola Juniper                               Team Echelon Rotor
  2. Laura Massey                                Epic Cycles Scott WRT
  3. Bethany Haywood                         Matrix Fitness Vulpine (J)
  4. Emma Grant                                  Tibco To The Top
  5. Elizabeth Holden                          RST Racing (J)
  6. Rebecca Womersley                      Wyndymilla Reynolds
  7. Rebecca Rimmington                    Merlin Cycles
  8. Amy Gornall                                 RST Racing (J)
  9. Jane Barr                                       Velocity 44 Stirling
  10. Jennifer Hudson                            VC ST Raphael
  11. Elizabeth Malins                           Fusion Development RT
  12. Ellie Campbell                               Fusion RT Gearclub Bike Science
  13. Alexie Shaw                                  Epic Cycles Scott WRT
  14. Gabriella Nordin                           Pedal Power RT
  15. Sophie Falkner                              Fusion RT Gearclub Bike Science(J)
  16. Eve Dixon                                     Team 22
  17. Abigail Dentus                              Team De Ver (J)
  18. Natalie Grinczer                            Fusion RT Gearclub Bike Science
  19. Rebecca Nixon,                             Dundee Thistle CC
  20. Abby Mae Parkinson                    RST Racing (J)
  21. Vanessa Whitfield                                    VC ST Raphael
  22. Karen Poole                                  GB Cycles
  23. Chloe Fraser                                  Deeside Thistle CC
  24. Cassie McGoldrick                       Fusion RT Gearclub Bike Science
  25. Louise Burnie                                Loughborough Students CC
  26. Maisie Duckworth                                    Wolverhampton Wheelers (J)
  27. Lauren Obrien                               RST Racing (J)
  28. Iona Sewell                                   GB Cycles
  29. Nicola Soden                                GB Cycles
  30. Helen McKay                                Look Mum No Hands!
  31. Ashleigh Fraser                             Deeside Thistle CC (J)
  32. Emily Middleditch                        Deeside Thistle CC
  33. Clover Murray                               Braintree Velo Cycle Racing Club
  34. Lucy Harper                                  Bike Pure LeMond Aspire (J)
  35. Alexandra Sheehan                       Merlin Cycles (J)



British Cycling Junior Women’s National Road Race Championships


Gold:   Bethany Haywood                  Matrix Fitness Vulpine

Silver:  Elizabeth Holden                    RST Racing Team

Bronze:            Amy Gornall               RST Racing Team


Women’s Road Race Standings after Round Eight


1          Nicola Juniper             274      Team Echelon

2          Gabriella Shaw            140      Pearl Izumi-Sports Tours International

3          Katie Archibald          135      Pearl Izumi-Sports Tours International

4          Dame Sarah Storey     110      Pearl Izumi-Sports Tours International

5          Laura Trott                  101      Wiggle Honda

6          Molly Weaver             96        Epic Cycles – Scott WRT

7          Laura Massey              93        Epic Cycles – Scot WRT

8          Hannah Walker           77        Epic Cycles – Scott WRT

9          Bethany Hayward       76        Matrix Fitness Vulpine

10        Danielle King              64        Wiggle Honda

11        Gillian Taylor              62        Fusion RT Gearclub Bike Science

11        Rebecca Womersley    62        Wyndymilla Reynolds

13        Grace Garner               58        RST Racing Team

14        Alexie Shaw                57        Epic Cycles – Scott WRT

15        Elinor Barker               55        Wiggle Honda

15        Rebecca Rimmington  55        Velosport – Pasta Montegrappa

17        Lydia Boylan              50        Velosport – Pasta Montegrappa

17        Jessie Walker               50        Matrix Fitness – Vulpine

19        Elizabeth Holden        48        RST Racing Team

20        Abigail Dentus            46        Team de Ver



Nicola Juniper (Team Echelon) is the 2014 Women’s Road Race Series Champion.


Results by British Cycling


The final race in the current season is the Stafford GP and Kermesse, on Friday 1st – Saturday 2nd August.


Contributor to


My photos are regularly updated on

error: Content is protected !!