British Superbikes

British Super Bikes Oulton Race 1

MCE Insurance British Super Bikes Season Finale 2010

Round 12 Oulton Park Triple Header!

MCE BSB Triple Header - Oulton Park 2010
Chris Walker - SorryMate SMT
Author: Chris Maher, Pictures courtesy of: Chris Maher | Photography.

Qualifying got underway as usual just after Noon on Saturday 09th October. The Swan Combi Roll For Pole is run over 3 quick fire rounds. Everyone takes part in session one. The fastest 20 move forward to round two and then the fastest 10 battle it out for pole. Pole position went to Worx Suzuki’s Tommy Hill who sets a new lap record (unofficial) of 1.35.236. Jamie Hamilton slides off at Lodge Corner. SMT Honda’s Chris Walker Honda fails due to an electrical problem. Walker ends up pushing his bike back to the pits, but it was too late to try & repair. The current leader Hill qualifies top.  Joining him on the front row are James Ellison, Michael Laverty & Gary Mason.

Race 1

MCE BSB Triple Header - Oulton Park 2010
Michael Rutter - Riders Ducati

It was Swan Honda’s James Ellison that flew to the front of the field in race 1. Leading the first part of the race, Hill & Kiyonari were unable to match the pace. It was possible for all six championship contenders to take the title this weekend, but Michael Rutter suffered electrical problems & that put the title out of reach for him. Both Kiyonari & Hill passed Ellison, but Hill couldn’t find a way around the 2006 & 2007 Champion for HM Plant.  In the Evo Class, Current leader Steve Brogan (who lead the race) is beaten to the line by Hudson Kennaugh, by out braking him into Lodge Corner. He is only 3 points behind Brogan in that Championship.


  1. Ryuichi Kiyonari         –           HM Plant Honda
  2. Tommy Hill                 –           Worx Suzuki
  3. James Ellison               –           Swan Honda
  4. Michael Laverty          –           Relentless Suzuki by TAS
  5. Josh Brookes               –           HM Plant Honda
  6. Tommy Bridwell         –           Tyco Quay Garage.

 This win puts Ryuichi Kiyonari to within 10 points of leader Tommy Hill. Josh Brookes is another 10 points further back. Just a few more points further back is Michael Laverty, but both Michael Rutter & Alistair Seeley are now both out of contention.