British Cycling - Road Women's (National Road) Series

Cheshire Classic 2014 – Women’s Road Race Series



British Cycling Women’s Road Series 2014 – Round 2

Author: Chris Maher, Pictures courtesy of: Chris Maher | Photography


Sunday 27th April

Cheshire Classic


Historic Winners


2013: Karla Boddy.

2012: Dame Sarah Storey.

2011: Lucy Garner.

2010: Jessica Booth.

2009: Annie Last.

2008: Sharon Laws.

2007: Lizzie Armitstead.




Round Two in the Women’s Road Series the Cheshire Classic, takes in a twelve lap or ninety two Kilometre course that’s placed not far away from Northwich in Cheshire. The action all takes place, on the climb up the “Cliff” in Acton Bridge, after a long drag race that stretches the whole length of the course along the flattish A49. The finish being the last climb up Acton Lane.

Pleasant weather greeted the full field of seventy girls including last years winner Karla Boddy, and the years previous winner, whom took a year out for the birth of her baby boy, Dame Sarah Storey.




A rolling start at nine thirty, saw the whole field climb the first ascend together, but began to split with the second climb. Karla Boddy & Katie Archibald, who was riding her first road race of the season were brought back. It was Hannah Walker, Dame Sarah Story and Katie Archibald that gained some distance again, but once more, reeled in by the peloton. Walker, Storey and Archibald once again gained some distance but with four laps left, once again found themselves back in the peloton.

Hayley Jones was the next rider to clip of the front, but it wasn’t long before Archibald joined her, to ride the final laps together.

As the final ascend to the finish line on the Cliff approached. Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International’s Katie Archibald proved the strongest rider on the day, to claim her first road victory in her first race for 2014. With team mate, Haley Jones second. Wiggle Honda’s Laura Trott broke free on the climb into third place, with the Alexandra Tour of the Reservoir winner Nicola Juniper behind her in fourth.


Round Two Results – Cheshire Classic


  1. Katie Archibald      Pearl Izumi Sports Tours Int
  2. Haley Jones          Pearl Izumi Sports Tours Int
  3. Laura Trott          Wiggle Honda
  4. Nicola Juniper       Pearl Izumi Sports Tours Int
  5. Lowri Devey          Abergavenny RC
  6. Lidia Gurley         Merlin Cycles
  7. Gabriella Shaw       Pearl Izumi Sports Tour Int
  8. Katie Curtis         Starley Primal Pro-cycling
  9. Molly Weaver         Epic Cycles Scott WRC
  10. Anna Christian  Epic Cycles Scott WRC


Team Jadan’s    Frankie White & Lauren Brown DNF


Previous Results…


Saturday 12th April

Round One Results – Alexandra Tour of the Reservoir

  1. Nicola Juniper       Pearl Izumi – Sports Tours Int
  2. Alexie Shaw          Epic Cycles – Scott WRT
  3. Molly Weaver         Epic Cycles – Scott WRT
  4. Hannah Walker        Epic Cycles – Scott WRT
  5. Chloe Frazer         Deeside Thistle
  6. Alice Cobb           Squadra Donne
  7. Lowrie Devey         Abergavenny RC
  8. Laura Massey         Epic Cycles – Scott WRT
  9. Amy Hill             Fusion RT


Next Race…


Sunday 18th May

Women’s CiCle Classic

This years Women’s CiCle Classic has been CANCELLED


Sunday 01st June

Hillingdon Women’s GP


Saturday 14th & Sunday 15th June

CDNW Surf & Turf 2 Day


Sunday 22nd June

Curlew Cup


Wednesday 02nd July

Otley GP


Saturday 12th & Sunday 13th July

Essex Giro 2 Day


Sunday 20th July

Ryedale GP


Wednesday 23rd July

Sheffield GP


Friday 01st August & Saturday 02nd August

Stafford GP & Kermesse


Thanks to Andy Wood at Weaver Valley CC Northwich…


British Cycling Official Results


Team Jadan


Cycling Shorts


Cheshire Classic

error: Content is protected !!