British Cycling - Track British National Track Cycling Championships Manchester Velodrome

British National Track Championships 2011 | Day 3

British Cycling – National Track Championships – Day 3, 30 Sept 11

Author: Chris Maher, Pictures courtesy of: Chris Maher | Photography

Open Keirin Semi Finals

Open Keirin Medals

2008 Holder: Matt Crampton

2009 Holder: Sir Chris Hoy MBE

2010 Holder: Ross Edgar

  • Gold                Chris Hoy
  • Silver               David Daniell
  • Bronze             Phillip Hindes


Chris Hoy fends off an aggressive challenge from David Daniell to take the National Keirin Gold by the narrowest of margins in an exciting conclusion to the race.

Open Scratch Race Qualifying

Open Scratch Race Medals

2007 Holder: Steven Burke

2008 Holder: Chris Newton

2009 Holder: Chris Newton

2010 Holder: Peter Kennaugh

  • Gold                Jonathon Mould
  • Silver               Adam Duggleby
  • Bronze             Adam Yates


Women’s Sprint Qualifying    (NR: 200m Flying Start – Victoria Pendleton 10.904)

1          Rebecca James                        11.221

2          Jessica Varnish                        11.231

3          Victoria Williamson                11.552

4          Jenny Davis                             12.015

5          Jessica Crampton                    12.126

6          Emma Baird                            12.517

7          Rosie Blount                           12.567

8          Donna Williams                      12.795

Women’s Sprint Medals

2008 Holder: Victoria Pendleton

2009 Holder: Victoria Pendleton        10.984

2010 Holder: Victoria Pendleton        11.067

  • Gold                Rebecca James
  • Silver               Jessica Varnish
  • Bronze             Victoria Williamson


Becky James wins the women’s National Sprint Gold by the narrowest of margins from Jessica Varnish. Holder Victoria Pendleton isn’t contending many of the events at the 2011 British National Track Championships due to her forthcoming European Championships schedule.

Women’s 30Km Points Race Medals

2007 Holder: Kate Cullen

2008 Holder: Alex Greenfield

2009 Holder: Lizzie Armitstead (47p)

2010 Holder: Corrine Hall (38p)

  • Gold                Lizzie Armistead (58p)
  • Silver               Laura Trott (50)
  • Bronze             Joanna Rowsell (36)


Wining the Women’s 30Km Points Race, Garmin Cevelo Women’s Team Lizzie Armitstead used all her season long road strength into claiming the National Jersey. Picking up maximum points on seven of the sprint laps Armitstead put a lap in on the bunch mid way through the race. This was counteracted by Joanna Rowsell & Laura Trott, who went into the lead. As the race progressed towards the finish two more girls joined them, Dani King & Corrine Hall. Trott kept the pressure on, but it was Armitsted that won all except the final sprint. That went to Joanna Rowsell and gave her enough points for the Bronze medal.

Para-cycling Pursuit Medals

  • Gold                Aileen McGlynn                     3.38.0
  • Silver               Shaun McKeown                    3.39.3
  • Bronze             Lora Turnham                         3.40.7
error: Content is protected !!