British Cycling - Road Premier Calendar

Premier Calendar | Tour Of the Reservoir 2012

Premier Calendar – Tour Of the Reservoir 2012

Author: Chris Maher, Pictures Courtesy of Chris Maher | Photography

Tour Of the Reservoir 06th May 2012


Round one, Maldon Dengie saw Alexandre Blain (Endura Racing) win with Ben Grenda (Rapha Condor Sharp) second and Matt Cronshaw (Node4 Giordana Racing) third.

Round two, Tour Doon Hame saw Jonny McEvoy (Endura Racing) win with Scott Thwaites (Endura Racing) second and Bernard Sulzberger (Team Raleigh-GAC) third in a three part race.


British Cycling’s Premier Calendar road cycle race returned to Northumberland for the 3rd round of the 2012 series.

Eight laps of the 12 mile Derwent Reservoir circuit, 154 kms distance, setting off with a 10.20am rolling start out ofBlanchlandVillage. Travelling anti-clockwise around the Reservoir, the race will finish by-passing the entrance to the dam and climb up the to the usual finish line from the reverse direction.


A five man group broke free on the first lap of Derwent Water, Russell Downing (Endura Racing), Magnus Backstedt (Team UK Youth Pro Cycling, Tom Moses (100% ME), Jamie Sparling (Team Raleigh-GAC) and Paul Oldham (Team Hope Factory Racing). This group was brought back by the second lap where several attacks came to nothing.

Race winner Scott Thwaites (Endura Racing) made his break out of the peleton along the team mate Ian Wilkingson and Russell Downing. Peter Hawkins (Team IG Sigma Sport) rode up the final climb into second position, with Downing a close third. Graham Briggs (Team Raleigh-GAC) was unable to bridge the gap with Andrew Tennant (Rapha Condor Sharp) leading the bunch some five seconds later.

Race Results

  1. Scott Thwaites                 Endura Racing
  2. Peter Hawkins                  Team IG Sigma Sport
  3. Russell Downing                Endura Racing
  4. Graham Briggs                  Team Raleigh-GAC
  5. Andrew Tennant                 Rapha Condor Sharp
  6. Pete Williams                  Node4 Giordana Racing
  7. Marcel Six                    Metaltek SCOTT
  8. Michael Berling                Cycle Premier Kovert

Standings after Round 3

  1. Scott Thwaites               244  Endura Racing
  2. Jonathon McEvoy              154  Endura Racing
  3. Erick Rowsell                149  Endura Racing

British Cycling | Premier Calendar 2012 Series

01 April      Maldon Dengie (Essex)

08-09 April   TourDoonHame – 3Day

06 May        Tour Of the Reservoir

13 May       LincolnGrand Prix

01 July      BeaumontTrophy

08 July      StocktonFestival of Cycling